Database Usernames & Passwords
When using these databases, do not enter your search query as a full sentence or question. Instead, use a string of keywords with an AND operator in the menu. For example:
As you conduct your research, take note of any additional keywords you can use in future searches, such as events, names of people, or names of laws and court cases connected to your topic (examples: House v. NCAA settlement, Pay for Play, Great Pacific Garbage Patch, National Firearms Act).
We also highly recommend utilizing the Peer Reviewed filter on EBSCO, which will limit your results to academic journal articles which have been fact-checked by the author's peers.
Once you find a good source, use the icons in the top right corner of the page to generate a link and a citation.
Gale:
EBSCO:
In addition to its standard High School database, Gale also has a database that works really well for this assignment called Opposing Viewpoints.
This database is the perfect place to fill in gaps in your research. If you need more high level context, look at the Topic Overview. If you are missing one side of the argument, look at the Featured Viewpoints box.
Links for all available Opposing Viewpoints Topic Guides on Gale can be found below:
Social Media and Misinformation
If your topic isn't one of the above listed, you can still search and find individual sources on this database, they just won't be curated for you.
EBSCO has a similar database called Points of View, which will also present you with multiple perspectives on heavily debated topics. While the standard High School EBSCO database will give you sources that provide historical context and opinion pieces, the Points of View database will only give you perspective-based arguments. You can find it on EBSCO's homepage.
